Holiday Pick Up Schedule

  1. 2018 Holiday Trash Schedule
  2. 2017 Holiday Trash Schedule
Date Holiday Collection
Monday, Jan. 1, 2018 New Year's Day No pickup Monday. All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, Jan. 15, 2018 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Regular service
Monday, Feb. 19, 2018 Presidents' Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, May 28, 2018 Memorial Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Wednesday, July 4, 2018 Independence Day No pickup Wednesday.
Wednesday and Thursday routes picked up one day later than usual on July 5 and 6.
Monday, Sept. 3, 2018 Labor Day No pickup Monday.  All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, Nov. 12, 2018 Veterans Day (observed) No pickup Monday. All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Thursday, Nov. 22, 2018 Thanksgiving Day No pickup on Thanksgiving.
Thursday routes picked up Monday, November 26 and Friday, November 30. 
Nov. 26-30, 2018 Week after Thanksgiving All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, Dec. 24, 2018 Christmas Eve Regular service
Tuesday, Dec. 25, 2018 Christmas Day No pickup Tuesday.
Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday routes picked up one day later than usual December 25-28.
Monday, Dec, 31, 2018 New Year's Eve Regular service
Holiday Solid Waste Pick Up Guide
Before a Holiday
If your regular collection day falls before the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected on your regular day.

On or After the Holiday
If your regular collection day falls on or after the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected one day later than usual.

Sunday
When a holiday falls on a Sunday, all trash collection for the following week will be collected one day later than usual.

Thanksgiving
For the Thanksgiving holiday, Thursday’s routes will be collected both Monday and Friday the week after Thanksgiving; all other routes the week after Thanksgiving will be collected one day later than usual.

Additional Information
Holiday pick-up schedule information is distributed as a press release to or available at the following:
Radio Stations
  • KCJJ
  • KRNA
  • KXIC
Newspapers
  • Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Gazette
  • Community News Advertiser
  • Daily Iowan
  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
TV Stations
  • KCRG
  • KGAN