News Flash

City of Coralville News

Posted on: July 22, 2019

Program Offers Forgivable Loans for Home Repairs

Air Conditioner

Johnson County homeowners (outside of the City of Iowa City) who meet certain income requirements may be eligible for a five-year forgivable loan to make necessary home repairs.

The Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County, in conjunction with Hills Bank and Trust Company, the Federal Home Loan Bank (FHLB) of Des Moines, and the East Central Iowa Council of Governments (ECICOG), will have $330,000 available on a first come, first serve basis to assist approximately 20 homeowners in Johnson County (outside of the City of Iowa City) with needed home rehabilitation.  Priorities include roofs, windows, doors, siding, HVAC, plumbing, and safety concerns.  Download a Housing Rehabilitation Program flyer (PDF)

To qualify for assistance, homeowners must have an income below 80% of the area median income (AMI).  In other words, homeowner incomes cannot exceed $52,850 for one person, $60,400 for two persons, $67,950 for three persons, etc.  

In addition, there must be enough equity in the dwelling to support the investment of up to $16,500 per homeowner rehabilitation project.  Assistance is in the form of a five-year forgivable loan.  If the homeowner remains in the home for five years, they will owe nothing on the assistance provided.  If the homeowner sells the property before the five year period expires, the homeowner will need to repay the pro-rated portion back to the Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County.  Participants will engage in a financial education program to help ensure that future expenses related to homeownership are included in the household budget.  

Applications for assistance are available at:

  • Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County’s website at
  • Hills Bank and Trust Company (Johnson County locations)
  • City Halls in Coralville, Hills, Lone Tree, North Liberty, Oxford, Shueyville, Solon, Swisher, Tiffin, and University Heights
  • Housing Trust Fund of Johnson County office (26 E. Market St., #123, Iowa City)
  • ECICOG office

 For more information, contact Mark Culver, East Central Iowa Council of Governments (ECICOG), at 319.365.9941, ext. 124, or email

Facebook Twitter Email