Holiday Pick Up Schedule

  1. 2021 Holiday Trash/Recycling Schedule
Date Holiday Collection
Friday, January 1, 2021 New Year's Day Pickup not impacted
Monday, January 18, 2021 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Regular service
Monday, February 15, 2021 Presidents' Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, May 31, 2021 Memorial Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, July 5, 2021 Independence Day (observed) No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Monday, September 6, 2021 Labor Day No pickup Monday.
All routes picked up one day later than usual all week.
Thursday, November 11, 2021 Veterans Day No pickup Thursday.
Thursday route will be picked up Friday.
Thursday, November 25, 2021 Thanksgiving Day Thursday routes collected Monday, November 29 and Friday, December 3.
Week of November 29, 2021 Week after Thanksgiving The week after Thanksgiving, all routes will be picked up one day later than usual.
Friday, December 24, 2021 Christmas Eve Pickup not impacted
Friday, December 31, 2021 New Year's Eve Pickup not impacted
Holiday Solid Waste Pick Up Guide
Before a Holiday
If your regular collection day falls before the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected on your regular day.

On or After the Holiday
If your regular collection day falls on or after the holiday in a calendar week, your trash will be collected one day later than usual.

Sunday
When a holiday falls on a Sunday, all trash collection for the following week will be collected one day later than usual.

Thanksgiving
For the Thanksgiving holiday, Thursday’s routes will be collected both Monday and Friday the week after Thanksgiving; all other routes the week after Thanksgiving will be collected one day later than usual.

Additional Information
Holiday pick-up schedule information is distributed as a press release to or available at the following:
Radio Stations
  • KCJJ
  • KRNA
  • KXIC
Newspapers
  • Cedar Rapids and Iowa City Gazette
  • Community News Advertiser
  • Daily Iowan
  • Iowa City Press-Citizen
TV Stations
  • KCRG
  • KGAN